Concerto for Horn and String Quartet in E Flat Major K. 417


Mozart dedicated his Horn Concerto No. 2 in E flat major, K. 417, to his friend Joseph Ignaz Leutgeb (1745-1811). Leutgeb was the Salzburg orchestra’s principal horn in Mozart’s early years, and is thought to be the model for Mozart’s elaborate early symphonic horn parts. Later, in Vienna, he served as the inspiration for Mozart’s four horn concerti, including the K. 417. This arrangement for Violins I and II, Viola, Cello and Horn consists of three movements:

I. Allegro maestoso
II. Andante
III. Rondo


Score type



Cliff Colnot

Ensemble type

Parts included

SCORE, Cello, Horn, Viola, Violin I, Violin II

Duration (approx.)


Performance restrictions


Additional Details

  • PDF format (ZIP file)
  • Download link is valid for 180 days
  • May be downloaded up to 5 times